Where we go

  • Nature
  • Community
  • Circularity

The Coven is GANG OF WITCHES’ sanctuary, artists from the gang live there and manage the place. We left the Parisian frenzy to live and work in the nature.

Nestling in the heart of a pines forest in the Mediterranean Basin, the Coven is all together a creative laboratory, a place for inspiration and reflexion and an experiment of a sustainable life in community.

We have reduced to the basics the objects of our daily lives in a perspective of logistic reduction and mental relief.

We produced more than one third of our food thanks to permaculture and our energy with solar panels; we aim for zero waste; we compost, we recycle used water to water the plants.

At the center of the Coven, a workshop for plastic arts and a recording studio allow its occupants to create continuously. Works from the artists occupy each corner, grouped as singular altars, before being sent all over the world, like emissaries of  transformation.

 

Ciou painting her necro kawaii Goddess of the Forest

by Vivien Bertin
02.20

Ciou painting her necro kawaii Goddess of the Forest in the Alley of Goddesses at the Coven.

Ciou has managed to establish herself within the international community of contemporary Pop art and Lowbrow artists. Her influences go from American popular culture from the thirties through the seventies to European Baroque but also the Victorian style. She is fond of contemporary art and traditional Japanese art. She has created her own cosmogony “necro kawaii”, with bewitching female dancers and their surrealist companions.

Music: Agnes Obel – Familiar

Sunny Buick painting Lion Goddess

by Luke Atkinson
11.19

Sunny Buick painting her powerful Lion Goddess on the Alley of Goddesses at the Coven.

Sunny Buick is a Francophile American painter and tattoo artist. She has been living in Paris for many years and expresses her creative universe on canvas, paper or under the skin. Behind naive and sweet appearances, with a constant and keen sense for details, composition and symbols, Sunny explores fairground arts, tiki culture, milagros, pinups and monsters of any kind which question our society about subjects that deal with feminism, ancestral rituals, and more recently, international politics. She is a cofounder of the gang.

Mermaid Julie Atlaz Muz

by Valérie Mitteaux
09.19

Julie Atlas Muz (born Julie Ann Muz on May 30, 1973) is a New York City-based performance artist, dancer, burlesque artist, stage director, and actress. In 2012, she married English actor Mat Fraser.

Muz is best known as a performer in the New York City burlesque scene and neo-burlesque revival. She was the crown holder of the 2006 Miss Exotic World and the 2006 Miss Coney Island pageants. The New York Times calls her “the royalty of burlesque”. She is a member of the eco-feminist revolutionary gang, Gang Of Witches.

Julie Atlas Muz is Tiger Cat

by Valérie Mitteaux
09.19

Le Coven

  • Nature
  • Communauté
  • Circularité

Le Coven est le sanctuaire de Gang Of Witches, il est habité et géré par les artistes du gang. Nous avons quitté la frénésie parisienne pour vivre et travailler dans la nature.

Niché au cœur d’une forêt de pins en Méditerranée, Le Coven* est une expérience artistique totale et un lieu éco-responsable**. Ce laboratoire « artiviste » ouvre régulièrement ses portes à des artistes en résidence. Ainsi, petit à petit, le lieu se peuple d’œuvres in situ et d’une collection permanente de nos œuvres et de celles d’artistes avec qui nous collaborons.

 

*Coven : Groupe, assemblée de sorcières.

**Nous produisons plus de la moitié de notre nourriture grâce à la permaculture ; la totalité de notre énergie est solaire ; nous visons le 0 déchets ; nous compostons ; nous récupérons l’eau de pluie et recyclons les eaux grises.

Instagram @thecoven.gangofwitches

Paola Hivelin "Invisible Ties" - Manipura #1

par Vivien Bertin
10.20

Paola Hivelin « Invisible Ties » – Manipura #1

Inspirée des réseaux mycorhiziens, cette œuvre méditative et arachnéenne amorce une série qui explore le thème de l’interconnexion et soulève la question de notre place au sein de l’écosystème terrestre. Quelles sont les connexions que nous avons choisies et expérimentées ? Comment pouvons-nous rétablir des interactions vertueuses et équilibrées dans un monde malade ?

Musique : Lorn – Acid Rain

Ciou peignant sa Déesse nécro kawaii de la forêt

par Vivien Bertin
02.20

Ciou peignant sa Déesse nécro kawaii de la forêt dans l’Allée des Déesses au Coven.

Ciou a su se faire une place dans le milieu international du Pop art contemporain et du Lowbrow. Ses influences vont de la culture populaire américaine des années 30 à 70 au baroque européen, ou encore au style victorien. Elle est passionnée par l’art contemporain et traditionnel japonais. Elle a créé sa propre cosmogonie « necro kawaii », où règnent d’ensorcelantes danseuses et leurs compagnons surréalistes.

Musique : Agnes Obel – Familiar

Vic Oh peignant sa Déesse Tanit Tinat

par Luke Atkinson
12.19

Vic Oh peignant sa Déesse Tanit Tinat dans l’Allée des Déesses au Coven.

C’est au Mexique, pays où elle grandit, que Vic Oh apprend les couleurs et les émotions, et s’imprègne d’art naïf, de réalisme magique et de cultures ancestrales. Artiste plasticienne aujourd’hui basée à Paris, diplômée en Histoire de l’Art à la Sorbonne, elle aime illustrer dans ses peintures la force du féminin sauvage ainsi que l’univers mystique et sacré qui nous entoure. Ses œuvres sont régulièrement exposées dans des galeries européennes (Paris, Florence, Amsterdam, Prague, Oslo…).

Musique : SQÜRL – Funnel of Love

Sunny Buick peignant sa Déesse Lionne

par Luke Atkinson
11.19

Sunny Buick peignant sa puissante Déesse Lionne dans l’Allée des Déesses au Coven.

L’univers de Sunny Buick, peintre et tatoueuse américaine francophile habitant à Paris depuis de nombreuses années, s’exprime sur toile, sur papier, ou sous la peau. Derrière des apparences naïves et sucrées, toujours avec un sens aigu du détail, de la composition et des symboles, Sunny explore art forain, culture tikki, milagros, pin-ups et monstres en tous genres qui questionnent notre société sur des sujets ayant trait au féminisme, aux rituels ancestraux, et, plus récemment, à la politique internationale. Elle est co-fondatrice du gang.

Mermaid Julie Atlaz Muz

par Valérie Mitteaux
09.19

Julie Atlas Muz (née Julie Ann Muz le 30 mai 1973) est une artiste de performance, danseuse, artiste burlesque, metteur en scène et actrice basée à New York. En 2012, elle a épousé l’acteur anglais Mat Fraser.
Muz est surtout connu pour son interprétation de la scène burlesque et du renouveau néo-burlesque à New York. Elle était titulaire de la couronne des concours Miss Exotic World 2006 et Miss Coney Island 2006. Le New York Times l’appelle « la royauté du burlesque ». Elle est membre du gang révolutionnaire éco-féministe Gang Of Witches.

Julie Atlas Muz is Tiger Cat

par Valérie Mitteaux
09.19